The Delaware Chapter of the American College of Physicians (ACP) honored three of its members with awards in March.

Allen Friedland, M.D., FACP, FAAP, received the chapter’s Laureate Award.

Allen Friedland, M.D., FACP, FAAP

The award is the highest recognition given by ACP chapters to honor physician members who have demonstrated a commitment to excellence in medical care, education, research and service to the community, their chapter and the ACP.

“Allen has established himself as a leader and mentor locally, regionally and nationally, and his commitment to his patients as well as peers, residents and students is unparalleled,” said Chapter Gov.-elect Daniel Elliott, M.D., MSPE, FACP, who presented Dr. Friedland with the award.

Dr. Friedland is director of Christiana Care’s Medicine-Pediatrics Residency Program and a professor of Medicine and Pediatrics at Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University. He was recognized as a 2018 Top Doctor by Delaware Today magazine in three distinct categories — Internal Medicine, Adolescent Medicine and Pediatrics.

David M. Cohen, M.D., FACP

David M. Cohen, M.D., FACP, received the chapter’s Leonard P. Lang Award, presented each year to an internist and ACP Delaware chapter member who exemplifies the qualities of an outstanding internist.

Dr. Cohen is Infectious Disease section chief at Christiana Care where he co-chairs the health system’s Antimicrobial Stewardship Program.

He serves as program chair for Christiana Care’s nationally noted William J. Holloway Infectious Disease Symposium and as a member of the Department of Medicine’s Medical Student Teaching Program. Dr. Cohen has been listed consecutively for five years among Delaware’s “Top Doctors” in Delaware Today.

James A. Piacentine, D.O., FACP

James A. Piacentine, D.O., FACP, FHM, received the chapter’s Hospitalist Award, presented each year to an internist and chapter member who has demonstrated excellence in hospital medicine.

A physician for 19 years, Dr. Piacentine is a member of Christiana Care Hospitalist Partners and is the unit-based medical director of unit 5B at Christiana Hospital.

He was the first Patient Safety and Quality Pillar Leader at Christiana Care and was named a “Top Doc” in Internal Medicine in 2016.